Scale with key signature

Subject : 


Term :

First Term / 1st Term


Week 6

Class :

JSS 2 / Basic 8

Previous lesson: 

The pupils have previous knowledge of


in their previous classes




Scale with key signatures G, D, A and E major


Behavioural objectives:

At the end of the lesson, the pupils should be able to

  • Say the


Instructional Materials:

  • Wall charts
  • Pictures of different types of houses
  • Related Online Video
  • Flash Cards

Methods of Teaching:

  • Class Discussion
  • Group Discussion
  • Asking Questions
  • Explanation
  • Role Modelling
  • Role Delegation


Reference Materials:

  • Scheme of Work
  • Online Information
  • Textbooks
  • Workbooks
  • 9 Year Basic Education Curriculum
  • Workbooks




When we talk about key signatures, we’re usually referring to the major or minor key that a piece of music is in. But there’s another type of key signature that’s worth knowing about, and that’s the scale key signature.

A scale key signature is simply a list of the notes in a particular scale, with each note


If you’re a musician, you’ve probably heard of the term “scale.” But what exactly is a scale? In music, a scale is a series of notes that are played in ascending or descending order. The most commonly used scale in Western music is the major scale, which consists of eight notes. (There are also minor scales,


There are major scales in music with key signatures like G,D, A, and E major. Each scale has a unique pattern of tones and semitones (steps) between the notes. The major scale is the most important scale in Western music. It is used as the starting point for many other scales, including the minor scale, harmonic minor scale, melodic minor scale, major pentatonic scale, and major blues scale.

The major scale is made up of seven notes, plus an eighth note, which is the same as the first note but an octave higher. The first note of a major scale is the tonic note (also called the root note). The other notes in the major scale are named using the degrees of the major scale: second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, and seventh.

The major scale is a heptatonic (seven-note) scale. Heptatonic means that there are seven notes in the scale. The major scale is also called a diatonic scale because it consists of five whole tones and two semitones. (A semitone is also called a half step.)

The major scale has a definite pattern of tones and semitones between the notes. This pattern is the same for all major scales. The major scale formula is: tone, tone, semitone, tone, tone.


The class teacher wraps up or concludes the lesson by giving out a short note to summarize the topic that he or she has just taught.

The class teacher also goes round to make sure that the notes are well copied or well written by the pupils.

He or she does the necessary corrections when and where the needs arise.





1. What is a scale?
2. What are the different types of scales?
3. How do you use a scale in music?
4. When would you use a particular type of scale?
5. How does the scale affect the tone of a piece of music?